First timer looking for some opinions

First timer looking for some opinions

Postby Marotta007 » Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:08 pm

[url]http://fantasygames.sportingnews.com/stratomatic/team/team_other.html?user_id=190481[/url]

It's my first time with Strat-O-Matic so I was just wondering how I did with my team. It's a 12 team league and at first look I couldn't be happier with my team. I think it's incredibly deep in both the starting rotation & bullpen while having a great lineup with a nice balance of speed & power.

I know that my defense is average at best but with each of my 5 starters having decent to high K/IP rates I figured that should mitigate some of the possible definsive issues.

Seeing as my home park is Yankee Stadium I would have liked to have another LH starter but with Mussina & Lackey so strong against lefties, I think I should be ok. The same thing goes for my lineup. I have a ton of power but only 2 Lefties in my starting lineup. The way I see it, guys like A-Rod, Braun and Cabrera shouldn't really be affected very much by ballpark. They're gonna hit 35+ HR regardless of where they play. I just don't know how much the park is taken into consideration when it comes to the sims.

On the bench, I thought Miles was a great pickup since he can play solid defense at 2B, 3B & SS and hold his own offensively should I have an injury at any of those spots. I have Gload as a defensive replacement for Howard and he should also be serviceable offensively should he need to pick up some AB's. Right now I have Kotsay set as my defensive replacement for Guillen in RF but I'm considering platooning him. Kotsay would play against RH & Guillen against LH.