Page 1 of 1

Maddux must have gotten one helluva good night's sleep

PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2019 9:35 am
by egvrich
Greg Maddux comes in to relieve during game 20 to start the 12th inning. He's F9 after one inning, F8 after 2 innings, goes to F0 in the third inning but goes on to pitch a total of 6 relief innings. Yet with 3 1/2 innings hacking away at his F0 rating we can't score a run and we lose with Maddux getting the win in relief:

https://onlinegames.strat-o-matic.com/g ... 442182/120

Then he comes back the very next day in game 21 at F9 and pitches a complete game to get another win. Only going to F8 on the final batter of the game:

https://onlinegames.strat-o-matic.com/g ... 442182/126

I'm sorry, but that is a flaw in the system. Just doesn't make any sense unless he's sleeping on a super high end Tempurpedic mattress of course.

Re: Maddux must have gotten one helluva good night's sleep

PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2019 1:21 pm
by paul8210
Major bug, which I've written to the game company several times. Even if Medich had been a S/R instead of a starter, HAL still would use Maddux to pitch those six innings even if a S/R with no assigned role had been available. The sensible thing would have been for HAL to bring in Medich as an F0 instead of Maddux because of his game 21 scheduled start, or to leave in Patterson, a reliever who wasn't even fatigued or pinch-hit for at the time of his exit.

I'm guessing the computer code is so old and hard to understand that none of the newbies want to touch it.

Re: Maddux must have gotten one helluva good night's sleep

PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2019 2:11 pm
by FrankieT
That seems to violate the POW rule since his start was the next day. His expected pitch count for the start should have been adjusted by the long relief stint, the same way it is for relievers on the third day, who go three days in a row.

But the PCF/POW implementation in SOM365 is unique to the online game AFAIK, and I would guess there is a missing info link somewhere in their adapted POW/PCF business rules that allows this.

Maybe he was not in the rotation or per start specification, and that is how they do it? Don't know but you are right--it clearly makes no sense as far as the known rules go.

Re: Maddux must have gotten one helluva good night's sleep

PostPosted: Thu Jan 09, 2020 10:39 am
by egvrich
Strat did finally respond to my question and admitted that this is an issue that they have identified and it is on their list of things to address.

Fingers crossed.