Your thoughts?

Moderator: Palmtana

• Author

Eddie E

Your thoughts?

PostMon Oct 30, 2023 4:07 pm

https://365.strat-o-matic.com/team/1742942

I built this team with the thought that between the hits and stolen bases, I could win. I also drafted a power hitting left handed bat in Ryan Howard and a power hitting right handed bat in Sal Perez to help with the HR parks. My defense is very good and my SP is respectable at the least. Yet I continue to lose. My hitters are doing exactly what I wanted from them and my SP has been a little subpar to my expectations.

I am new to ATG9 but do pretty well in 20xx. What am I missing? Thanks in advance for your suggestions and ideas.

andycummings65

Re: Your thoughts?

PostMon Oct 30, 2023 4:46 pm

I personally wouldn't try the "all SPs/no Pen" approach unless I was willing to put more $$ into my SPs.

Your Pen is getting more work than it should because it can't lean on the SPs

Danchiacchia

PostMon Oct 30, 2023 4:50 pm

At a glance (and not knowing the rest of the BP's in your league), looks like your record is a bit below where it would be in expected Pythag. Howard and Perez both not ideally suited to a singles park--higher batting average singles/doubles/triples cards might have been better (you have a few of those who are doing quite well). Howard hasn't been terrible, just has been hurt by BP home runs and is underachieving for that price.

Eddie E

PostMon Oct 30, 2023 5:37 pm

Thanks Andy, do you suggest cutting back on the cost of the offensive players?

Dan, most of the parks turned out to be parks similar to mine with just a few exceptions. But going into the league and not knowing what the parks would look like, I thought it important to have a couple sluggers to help me on the road and their straight up homers (which are plentiful) would help me at home as well. Would you abandon all power and sell out for basehits and extra base hits?

andycummings65

PostMon Oct 30, 2023 5:50 pm